3 movies to watch and reflect on

I’m not working at the moment which means I have a lot of time on my hands. Recently, I have spent a little of that time watching movies, as I have been doing a lot of cooking, it isn’t surprising that the films I have been most attracted too are those about food. After watching my 3rd food based movie today, I made a observation, all these movies seem to follow the same theme: Unhappy man is forced to re-evaluate his life which involves finding what really matters including what his real priorities in life are, on the journey he peels away what isn’t really important by simplifying things and finds happiness once again. In case your wondering, I highly recommend all these movies and I’ll let you know the names at the end of this post but I guess what this has really got me thinking about is, is there a reason all the movies I am watching have the similar themes, is someone trying to tell me something, it sure feels like it, there is a lot I want to achieve career wise but I also don’t want to get so caught up in the idea of making money and being successful that I forget the basics. It’s easy to get carried away and then loose sight of who you really are and what’s really important, I have been there before and the feeling of being lost isn’t a nice one, so I guess what I’m trying to say is, I am very grateful to be able to have the time and space to realise this and I guess if I was working, there would be no time to reflect.

There is one more thing, these films have led me to ask the question: what do I really love, what makes me happy, what is my purpose (an ongoing question), what can I do that will make me feel complete? I’ll let you know when I find the answers…but are these questions ones you need to be asking yourself?

If you want to experience the beauty of these 3 movies, here are the titles and a short description (click to see the trailers). If you watch any of them, let me know your thoughts, I would love to hear them!

Movies:

Chef: A head chef quits his restaurant job and buys a food truck in an effort to reclaim his creative promise.

Waffle Street: A rags-to-riches tale of a jaded financier who, after losing his Wall Street job, finds redemption and an unlikely friendship whilst working in a waffle restaurant.

Today’s Special: A young Manhattan chef rediscovers his passion for life through making Indian food when he is forced to take over the family business.

 

 

Leave a Reply

