What do you want?

On a recent trip abroad, I sat with a friend who had been through a break up. What was it about her that made her so special? I asked. And to my surprise one of the things he said was ‘she made me a good home made meal’ but anyone would do that for you right? Well it seems not, sometimes all we really want in life is the simple things, especially as age catches up with us.

It’s funny, sometimes we are quick to forget to think about what we really want and we settle for something that’s so far from the truth. Being a really relaxed person who is used to putting others first, it’s easy to forget about your own needs. It becomes the norm to always think about how you can please others and that’s all you begin to know. However, one day, like me, you’ll meet someone who cares enough to ask ‘but what about you, what do you want?’ Who would have thought this would be such a difficult question to answer but it is. I was posed with this question last week and I had no idea what to say. That’s what inspired me to write this post because I am sure I’m not the only one that’s in this position.

What is the solution?
Be a little selfish, there is nothing wrong with being selfish once in a while, put yourself first, think about what you want and what your needs are. Why? Because in the long run it will help; help to define you, help to clarify what you want and most importantly help to ensure you don’t ever feel any resentment towards others.

Leave a Reply

