What is Freedom?

“I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do. I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do” – Robert A. Heinlein

What a fantastic quote and so very true, it was a discussion with a friend that got me thinking about freedom, I think I defined really well what this meant to me.

We all want to be free but we are constantly surrounded by other people, their opinions, thoughts and feelings that effect the decisions we make in life. Freedom is realising that although other people may choose to share these with you, at the end of the day, only you know how you feel, what makes you feel good and what makes you feel bad. Freedom to me is being aware of this, doing an action and being able to say at the end of it, that felt good, so it can’t be a bad thing despite what others might think or say. If something makes you feel good, it is good for you, it’s pretty simple. This is how I am going to live my life from now on and I hope you will consider doing the same.

Your everyday experiences lead you along the path of life and hearing about other people’s experiences gives us clarity, definition and hope…If freedom means something different to you, please share it with us here…

Leave a Reply

