Avoiding Disappointment

When there is a task you need to do that scares you, it’s very natural to go through stages of motivation and then de-motivation, sometimes you even avoid doing it but then you are faced with that little voice inside that makes you feel bad and guilty, like your letting yourself down.

At a casual drink’s on Saturday, I had this conversation with an acquaintance, explaining my current state of mind and I was reminded ”Don’t be so hard on yourself”.

We set expectations for ourselves and when we don’t achieve them, we feel disappointed, the easiest way to avoid disappointing  yourself is not to set any kind of expectations in the first place, like I hear over and over again ”Enjoy the moment, live for the present, focus on the now” Easier said then done I know but practice does make perfect so we should all try to persevere!

One thought on “Avoiding Disappointment

  1. Its amazing how you gave me the exact advise. 🙂 It is so hard not to expect from oneself. My trick is to give it all..I dont want any regrets..and God guide me if this is my path.

Leave a Reply

