The Gratitude Alarm

Gratitude is…the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness.

Sometime ago, I cant remember when, I set an alarm on my phone, the alarm goes off everyday at 9.20pm (No real significance in timing).

If I’m out, people will ask what the alarm signifies, after my explanation, I’ll say ”So, what are you grateful for today?”. Often, the automatic answers are ”I don’t know” or ”Nothing” or ”I can’t think of anything”.

When we think about gratitude, we usually think about the big things for e.g. Lack of wealth, property or a nice car but what about being grateful for the small things i.e. Good eye sight, the ability to walk, talk, touch another person.

I realised the importance of this earlier this year and I really didn’t want to ever forget the reasons for why I am so fortunate despite the up’s and downs that may come along the way, hence the Gratitude Alarm!

So tell me, what are you grateful for today?

9 thoughts on “The Gratitude Alarm

  1. Love it and so damn true! Well I am grateful for birds outside my window. They are my wake up call every morning. And sort of feel part of nature in some way.

  2. Tina told me about your blog, and your gratitude alarm. I actually have an alarm on my phone that alerts me to write 3 things down on my gratitude journal :). It reminds me to be grateful for the little things and makes me reflect more positively on my day.

      • 1. For my friends at work, I had a really fun time at work today joking around with them
        2. A fun conversation I had with a colleague about silly things like cats, and then about serious things like women’s rights.
        3. I had a chance to facetime with my sister today and see her face, so I’m thankful for technology and for my sister wanting to chat with me.

        What are your three things? πŸ™‚

      • Thanks Pooja πŸ™‚ The 3 things I am grateful for are…
        1. All the people who have chosen to follow this blog, it’s nice to know people are reading and I hope I am helping in some way!
        2. A surprise phone call I received at lunch, my best friend needed space, I wasn’t sure how much and how long it would be before I heard from him but he called me at lunch and said his mum had softened him to remember me. So I’m grateful for the call and to his mum!
        3. Family, today we are having a cousin bonding dinner, having family in the same country as you is such a gift!

        What 3 things are other people grateful for today?

Leave a Reply

